//
you're reading...
Memories, Uncategorized

Ode to Woods….

A true hero and inspiration to many....

As this is my first blog post I thought it only appropriate to begin with an ode I wrote for my mentor and best friend who passed away on 11 November 2010…

“Gyul, I doh like yuh but yuh are a true trooper and ah could work with yuh again”, these were the words that began the tumultuous but admirable relationship between my mentor, Wilfred Trevor Woodley and I. ‘Woods’, as many of us affectionately called him was one of the most honest, straightforward and gifted persons I ever met. He never failed to tell you the truth even when he knew it will hurt. He was a man who lived a fearless life and even when faced with life’s adversities he dealt with it with such courage and calmness that all who knew him could only remember him in admiration and respect.

During his time in Israel I saw him touch the lives of many, yet he stayed true to himself and his art form. He was never one to compromise or adapt to any place or situation for the sake of fitting in. He lived by his rules and those of us who were fortunate to be in his company still live our lives according to the lessons he taught us. This is most evident in his Israeli extension, Tomer George Cohen, who is the only Israeli I have ever known to speak English with a Trini vernacular because as Woods said, “If yuh cah speak de language yuh cah play de music.”

Woods was a true friend and he was the one person whom I counted on for honest feedback as I battled with my artistic talent. “Girl, you have something and you don’t even know it. And is only when you begin to believe in yourself you would begin to exist as a true artiste.” These words have ignited me to become the artiste I am today and made me understand that I don’t need to fit into any genre to be accepted.

So today I choose to celebrate the life of Woods and remember him as he would want us to – a man who was brutally honest but the best friend you could ever ask for.  THANK YOU ‘Woods’, THANK YOU for being the person you were and a true friend to me and all the lives you have touched over the years. You will be sorely missed but as only you will say, “Well I was here and now ah gone! Deal wit dat!

About hsfanga

As a prolific vocalist I have spent many years crafting and developing my talent to reach my present point. Although I still have a long way to go I am truly grateful for the energies and blessings that the universe has poured into my life. And despite all the difficulties and challenges faced I am excited to share this journey with you....FANGA!

Discussion

12 thoughts on “Ode to Woods….

  1. I heard so much goodness and positive reflections about Woods.
    There is a strange sadness, that I will never experience personally meeting him but seeing what comes from others, I welcome…

    Posted by Barry Burns | December 9, 2010, 09:19
  2. Well said HIllary. Didn’t know the man but from all that you told me he was a true hero.

    Posted by Resa | December 8, 2010, 12:14
  3. So very true. Thanks Hillary!

    Posted by Benji Selano | November 24, 2010, 12:54
  4. Once you encountered Professor Wilfred Woods, you could never remain the same, positive change to your musicianship must take place, Hilary your poem was well executed and received especially the closing lines ” I was here, now I gone deal with it” At the celebration of his life at Mon Repos you saw the cross section of society that Woods impacted on. Everyone better off for having known Woods. May his soul rest in Peace.

    Posted by Neil Abebele Baptiste | November 21, 2010, 21:00
  5. Take those lessons he has imparted, people and go deal with the music.

    Posted by Ron Reid | November 19, 2010, 19:44
  6. A very complex and gifted individual that most did not understand, only those who got close to him knew who he really was. I thank GOD I was one of those and I also thank GOD for the many long chats we had in the last 2 years in Tobago. I am richer for the experience.

    Posted by Anthony Woodroffe | November 19, 2010, 15:01
  7. We were all moved from where we were to where we are just meeting this man.I think that his honesty transended everything as hillary’s words testify.It is now up to us to further Ignite the legacy where ever we go. ASE

    Posted by Tamba Gwindi | November 19, 2010, 14:53
  8. Give thanks…

    Posted by Michael Low Chew Tung | November 19, 2010, 14:12
  9. i remember how i feared he would disprove my help on Hillary’s ‘Once Upon A Time’…
    Beautiful tribute to a man i wouldve loved to get to know and learn from

    Posted by Dror Shem Tov | November 19, 2010, 11:32
  10. Great Ode !

    Posted by Swedaka Matthews | November 19, 2010, 03:18
  11. ‎’Now Deal Wit Dat’ Bless Hillary..

    Posted by Alvin Roberts | November 19, 2010, 02:26
  12. Hillary, that was beautiful and so well received.

    Posted by Vaughnette Bigford | November 19, 2010, 02:16

Leave a Reply

HS FANGA

Inspiring, reflective, stimulating are just some words to describe what HS FANGA blog is all about. Time to find that FANGA within you!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Archives

