//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

A Lifetime Gift to Ourselves….

Treating friends to a FANGA dinner

“If you know what is good for you, you had better eat everything off your plate or else….” Words of my mother may she rest in peace.

That brings me to the subject of food. Why is it we are so obsessive over food? What makes us eat unnecessarily? Why is it that eating healthy for most of us is problematic? I may not have the answers but I would like to share my thoughts on this tug of war we have with our appetite for food.

Nutrition, self discipline and balance is what I consider the most important aspect in taking care of one self. Our focus on nutrition should be the root of living a healthy life. By doing this, we will be able to stabilize our weight and develop a good eating pattern.

Coming from different cultures we have many traditional foods and eating habits. However, it’s never too late to adhere and aspire to wonderful beginnings – it is the key to life. So today let’s strive for self-discipline: You can achieve it! Although challenging at times it is an aptitude that requires stamina and commitment and therefore should not be on a ‘to-do list’. It’s something that should be worked on like daily exercises. Remember, in the end it all comes down to balance. Think of the body as a car, do you fill up your vehicle with more fuel than it requires? Better yet, do you try to over flood the carburetor in your car?

Eating and enjoying one’s life is important but let us be smart about it. Let there be a balance between celebrating and living smartly. Even though we survive each moment except the last one we can still enjoy these moments responsibly.

Message to readers:

During this festive season let us take the opportunity to take away that robust attitude that we often have towards food and give it a quick thought before filling our plates. Rather than complaining that “I am too fat” or “I need to go on a diet”, let our eating habits be a labor of love to ourselves, let it be an act of self discipline as we learn to honour and respect our bodies the way we should.

Merry Christmas, Happy Belated Hanukkah and Happy Kwanzaa to all my readers. Wishing you a safe and FANGA-ful 2010 season…..FANGA!

About hsfanga

As a prolific vocalist I have spent many years crafting and developing my talent to reach my present point. Although I still have a long way to go I am truly grateful for the energies and blessings that the universe has poured into my life. And despite all the difficulties and challenges faced I am excited to share this journey with you....FANGA!

Discussion

4 thoughts on “A Lifetime Gift to Ourselves….

  1. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it,
    you’re a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will often come back at some point. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great job, have a nice day!
    My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content for yourself? I wouldn’t mind
    writing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you
    write regarding here. Again, awesome web log!
    My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different website and thought I should check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to checking out your web page repeatedly.

    I really like what you guys are usually up too. This
    kind of clever work and reporting! Keep up the excellent
    works guys I’ve added you guys to my own blogroll.
    Hey there I am so happy I found your blog, I really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a tremendous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the great job.

    Posted by Ward | September 2, 2012, 00:13
  2. You are gifted, and I love your blog. Also, it is not too long and cumbersome like some of them I read, but really to the point, and food for thought.
    Toda for this!

    Posted by Tamara | December 22, 2010, 18:24
  3. Self discipline is the key ,and most of us have thrown the key away,and just eat for taste as opposed to nutrition .It is unfortunate to hear people complain about being too fat yet they refuse to alter their eating habits .I n this time we are bombarded by processed foods that only serve to fill our stomachs so we don’t feel hungry, but offer very little in terms of nutrition ,of which the end result is lack of energy, premature ageing and disease.At my age i still run around as if i’m in my twenties and it’s all possible because i am disciplined about my eating and don’t get wrapped up in holidays,allowing others to decide for me how i should feel or what i should eat at certain times of year.

    Posted by alvin roberts | December 21, 2010, 16:30

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Yiddish Mamas | Hillary Sargeant Fanga - October 11, 2011

Leave a Reply

HS FANGA

Inspiring, reflective, stimulating are just some words to describe what HS FANGA blog is all about. Time to find that FANGA within you!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Archives

Hillary Sargeant FANGA! The Power in Ya

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Top Posts & Pages

