//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Oh What a Rat Race…

“What?! You want to tell me that I cannot have a picture of my nephew to put on my desktop that I will have to go to FB to see his pictures!” When I heard this I laughed my ass off so hard. It was funny but at the same time sad that we no longer enjoyed the beauty of doing things like developing pictures, framing them and pasting them to a photo album so we can joyfully tell the story to a listening ear while browsing through it.

It is regrettable that most of us have succumbed to the world of technology even though it is imperative to our world today. It has stipulated our lifestyle more and more, day after day. We have become techno junkies without thought.

Maybe I am getting old, but really what is truly going on in our society today? Capitalism is at its maximum. Imagine having an autobiography at age 14. May I stand corrected but, from my understanding isn’t the meaning of autobiography “A written account of one’s own life?” That is, when you have lived and have something of substance to tell. I may sound like I am bashing that person but I am not. I am quite happy for him to accomplish so much at such a tender age, FANGA! to him! But the reality is that it is not his doing having a bio at his age, it is only one example of the depth and the length of where free enterprise has gone today.

People, let us not fool ourselves it boils down to the almighty dollar. As calculated as we can get, we never seem to have enough of it. We as a society have come to forget one of the most important elements in life – The Human Element. We are forcing and fighting ourselves to be that which we are not. Most of us have lost whatever God-given natural substance we have as we allow the demands of our everyday lives to rob us of the joy of experiencing the simple things. The reality of living is becoming alarming and for me it is frightening. But, I do believe that many of us still have the heart and passion for preserving these simple gestures. We just need to be reminded of the joy that still exist in doing them.

So these are my thoughts about our present day life which all started from overhearing that conversation of not having a simple photo. Nothing personal, it is just what it is – my thoughts.

Bob Marley said it best, “Oh What Ah Rat Race”. 

About hsfanga

As a prolific vocalist I have spent many years crafting and developing my talent to reach my present point. Although I still have a long way to go I am truly grateful for the energies and blessings that the universe has poured into my life. And despite all the difficulties and challenges faced I am excited to share this journey with you....FANGA!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Oh What a Rat Race…

  1. Kol a kavod Hilary my dear u r so right!!!

    Posted by Ana | January 26, 2011, 12:45
  2. A rat race indeed,the advent of modern technology has proven to be a double edged sword,for while it enables more convenience and speed in accomplishing certain tasks ,humans in general have become more self centered and less compassionate towards each other.I travel on the subway and observe people on the train with their faces buried in their cell phone ,not trying to make calls because you can’t from the underground but as a way of avoidance.No greetings or even a nod of acknowledgment ,just a very cold and unfriendly atmosphere with each one seemingly in their own world in a hurry going nowhere fast .As for the fourteen year old autobiography ,that is a symptom of live fast and die young in a world where age no longer brings wisdom, but impatience and indifference .I seems humanity’s ability to think is being replaced by it’s over dependence on computers and other devices .I for one am glad that i grew up in the era in which i did , my understanding the value of human interaction and my ability to work out simple math problems without a calculator is priceless..

    Posted by alvin roberts | January 25, 2011, 13:57

Leave a Reply

HS FANGA

Inspiring, reflective, stimulating are just some words to describe what HS FANGA blog is all about. Time to find that FANGA within you!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Archives

