//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

The Joy of Music

Alvin Roberts
 This week I am pleased to introduce to you a long time friend and fellow musician, Alvin Roberts. I’ve known Alvin for many years and always held great respect for his musical abilities and moreso for the inspirational conversations we have had time and time again. So this week I wanted to share with you one of his many uplifting thoughts and I’m really happy that he took the time to write this piece for us. So I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. FANGA to Alvin!

 

 I sometimes wonder where would I be without the gift of music. Would I be a carpenter a C.E.O, an electrician, a stock broker, a drug dealer, a mailman, office clerk or some other occupation other than being a musician? The very thought frightens me because I would have never had the many wonderful experiences I’ve had over the last thirty plus years.

I have never met a human being who didn’t like some kind of music. There is something about sound and vibration that goes to the core of one’s soul and delivers a high that is totally addicting and in so doing makes life worth living. To me it is the proof of the existence of a higher consciousness (GOD) as in every religion, music is used as part of the ritual to bring us into a state of oneness with our creator.

As a profession I think it is the most difficult on many levels, however, for those of us who have chosen it, or should I say were chosen by it , it’s simply something we must do, a divine purpose, a calling a sense of who we are. This is why so many musicians are seen as weird or even crazy in the eyes of those who don’t understand the source of the magic we weave.

Alvin at one of his many performances.

Many years ago, I was fortunate to be a part of a show which was directed by the world famous actor dancer choreographer, Geoffrey Holder, and during the dress rehearsal he said to the cast, “Don’t be afraid because the people who are coming to see us are doing so because they have a fantasy of being on stage themselves.” This hit me like a ton of bricks and served to remove all doubt as to the power which I held within my very being and I shall be ever grateful to him for uttering those few words.

Being a musician has not been without some pain and suffering on a personal level, broken relationships, not having the respect of more traditional thinkers and just being misunderstood. These challenges have all been a part of my journey, but it’s all worth it when I see the reaction of my audience when I go on stage, open my mouth and start singing. The smiles on their faces, the movement of their bodies and the abandonment of their inhibitions is priceless, which makes that feeling almost indescribable.

So today I would like to salute all musicians of all races cultures and ethnicities from around the world. I feel a bond with you because we all speak a common language that transcends all others. A language that heals, inspires and teaches the world that we are all one under the sun. A language that will ultimately be the salvation of us all as we experience and share with the world what we were born to do, being ever mindful of the power we hold and the responsibility that comes with it. That is, to foster peace love and harmony throughout humanity through our creations and to live a life filled with the JOY OF MUSIC…….Peace!

About hsfanga

As a prolific vocalist I have spent many years crafting and developing my talent to reach my present point. Although I still have a long way to go I am truly grateful for the energies and blessings that the universe has poured into my life. And despite all the difficulties and challenges faced I am excited to share this journey with you....FANGA!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The Joy of Music

  1. I’ve always said the one talent/gift I wished I was blessed with is being able to sing. So Mr. Holder was right in a sense- there are a number of people in the audience who would exchange places with the musician in a heartbeat. However, I disagree with Mr. Roberts saying, “as a profession, it is the most difficult…” I believe that on some level because artists who are known & are in the position where they see other peoples’ reaction to their work, have a feeling of a ‘god-like’ reality. They are almost worshiped by some.(I am referring not only to musicians). But, we are all vehicles & really, no profession is more difficult than others, there are always challenges. As a teacher, my words can encourage or scar for life, a young, impressionable mind- now talk about difficult! But I say that to say, to whom much is given, much is expected. We are never to lose sight that we are all vehicles through which some sort of creativity flows. Its just that some are in the spotlight, while others are not. I LOVE music & I bless you Mr. Roberts & you too Hillary for your music and the beauty you have contributed to this universe.

    Posted by Nicky | February 22, 2011, 14:20

Leave a Reply

HS FANGA

Inspiring, reflective, stimulating are just some words to describe what HS FANGA blog is all about. Time to find that FANGA within you!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Archives

Hillary Sargeant FANGA! The Power in Ya

Top Posts & Pages

