//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Caring and Sharing

Narayanan Krishnan feeding the poor

Some time ago I was leaving a rehearsal and going towards my car when I saw a sort of commotion going on at the opposite side of the street. There were about twenty elderly men, two vans and a lot of bags on the pavement. Out of curiosity I decided to go to see what was going on. As I got closer I saw the men packing food toiletries and other provisions. I began to enquire about what was taking place. They informed me that they were collecting food from homes and putting packages together for the needy and it was a weekly project. I walked away smiling and said to myself that is what I love about Israel. Israeli men have no qualms about doing such a task.

It is a wonderful and special feeling to be generous. To give willingly without any expectation is always rewarding. Yes, there are times others will take us for granted however, that should not stop us from being selfless. I know it is easier said than done nevertheless, by putting our needs and wants aside for a moment and giving that extra time to help someone else (may it be a student, neighbor or the average person on the street) is always satisfying to the soul.

Giving compassionately to others may enhance their lives more than we could ever imagine. So we should not let our daily hustle and bustle steal these moments of being able to help ease someone else’s burden. We should make time to do something voluntary within our communities occasionally (at least I think so). Why wait for tragedies to occur to lend a hand?

Obama and friends painting a home for 9/11 National Day of Service and Remembrance

As a people there is so much more we can do. Note I have not asked for us to give money because for one reason or the other this may not always be possible. But to give of our time is something we can all afford and it forces us to really spend time with the benefactor which often teaches us valuable lessons we may have otherwise missed. So maybe we can try giving just 10 minutes of our time sharing our talent or knowledge to someone eager to learn. You can never know the impact such simple gestures can have, even on our lives.

Uniting forces and replenishing the needs of the less unfortunate will bring its benefits. If not for you for our children or our grandchildren for there will be no seed left to wither when good deeds are done without any intentions.

The Fanga team Motto for 2011 is “Caring and Sharing”. Today I leave you with a poem titled ‘The Perfume’. Take some time to read it through and see what a difference you can make in someone’s life by just giving your time.

Become someone’s hero instead of being zero….. Fanga!

To read more about Narayanan Krishna click here

About hsfanga

As a prolific vocalist I have spent many years crafting and developing my talent to reach my present point. Although I still have a long way to go I am truly grateful for the energies and blessings that the universe has poured into my life. And despite all the difficulties and challenges faced I am excited to share this journey with you....FANGA!

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Caring and Sharing

  1. Reva, you should not feel unrewarded because others take advantage of your kindness. Remember when you give from your heart freely it should not be calculated, so I suggest you keep giving and you’ll be rewarded in some form, not necessarily from those who you give and if not you your future generations to come will be rewarded.

    Thank you for your kind words and I am happy that my blogs are of great Inspiration to you.

    Posted by Hillary | June 2, 2011, 22:19
  2. Hi Hillary
    This post is so touching for me, because I feel so emotional. I try to give so much of my self and my time but I feel so unrewarded because people are so ungrateful because it is so much about them and what more can you give to them. But anyway I look to the heavens and say to God be the glory. I read that poem so many times in my life and hope not to be that teacher who looked down on that child but to embrace each child that comes to me daily in whatever manner or disposition they may appear. God bless and thanks for these blogs for they are really inspiring. Keep sweet.

    Posted by Reva | June 1, 2011, 04:45
  3. “There were times when a packet of sugar that I took off the restaurants outdoor tables was considered a meal for me when I was young. So I learned early on in my young life to be humble and to consider myself blessed for each & everything I have.”

    Posted by Drummergirl Rollins | June 1, 2011, 01:05
  4. Uplifting! Produces a feeling of hope and happiness.

    Posted by Janine | May 31, 2011, 19:00
  5. Very nobel and inspiring, Hillary. Fantastic values you have established for 2011.

    Posted by Freedom Ze'ev | May 31, 2011, 15:17

Leave a Reply

HS FANGA

Inspiring, reflective, stimulating are just some words to describe what HS FANGA blog is all about. Time to find that FANGA within you!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Archives

