//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

A Perpetual Exploratory Society

The man responsible for the sound of FANGA, Tamir and myself, enjoying a laugh at the FANGA launch

Israelis are a driving force for creativity and hard work. Their stimulus level is undeniably astute and over the years I have come to respect its people and I am highly influenced by them.

With such diverse cultures and deep-rooted traditions stemming from different parts of the globe their melting pot is huge – Iraq, Iran, Yemen, Poland, Germany, Eastern European, North Africa and so many more countries one can only begin to imagine. They came and together succeeded, against all odds, to build a country.

They are a perpetual exploratory society. Their curiosity level is astounding. They are open and always willing to learn especially of other peoples’ cultures. This is a country and a people full of optimism. Their ideologies are so matter of fact there’s no room for false pride. One friend related this message best, he said, “While growing up my mother always said there are two things you should be ashamed of as a profession – a prostitute and a
criminal – all other jobs should not be measured but be respected.”

The best graphic artiste in Israel, Azizy (middle), capturing the attention of guests at the FANGA launch

Professionals or not they are always adding an extra curriculum to their daily lives. For instance, joining a choir, or learning to play an instrument, or doing pottery, they are always connecting themselves with their passion for life in some form or the other. Their favorite expression is “There’s nothing to lose, so why not? Let’s give it a try.

Would my life have been different had I not been in Israel? Honestly I do not know. However I know that over the years I have learnt a lot as I assimilated myself into this society and opened myself to the experiences it offered, without judgment or hesitation.

In 2007, I wrote a song (Aye Ben Kilema) paying homage to Israel and its culture so I leave you with what I wrote on the inside of the CD single cover…….

“In a country of diverse cultures one can absorb so much from the land. Through the rich variety of ethnic nuances it is my honor to pay tribute to Israel for expanding my awareness and bringing my musical ambitions into full bloom.

Aye Ben Kilema (Peace Be with You).

Hillary Sargeant.”

 

About hsfanga

As a prolific vocalist I have spent many years crafting and developing my talent to reach my present point. Although I still have a long way to go I am truly grateful for the energies and blessings that the universe has poured into my life. And despite all the difficulties and challenges faced I am excited to share this journey with you....FANGA!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

HS FANGA

Inspiring, reflective, stimulating are just some words to describe what HS FANGA blog is all about. Time to find that FANGA within you!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Archives

Hillary Sargeant FANGA! The Power in Ya

