//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Made my New Year’s Resolutions, Have You?

ImageGetting out of debt and losing weight are two of the most popular New Year’s Resolutions but for some it’s also about self improvement and trying to be a better individual. Today, there are so many books on positive thinking, from A to Z you name it and it is out there to help those who seek this knowledge and support. The empowerment of these books is without a doubt very helpful. My interest and fascination with the holistic world forever had me seeking to know myself and to discover how much further I can ingratiate myself into an area where I can evolve indefinitely.

I remember many years ago when I read the book “The Power of Now” by Eckhart Tolle. I was on a high for months trying to be as present as can be with everything I did. I even shared with my audience a few lines in song about making that change by adding some profound values in their lives.

As I grew older with the continuity of my quest to know more of who I am as a person I came to an understanding that it does not matter how many books I read or how much I took away from them that there will always be that issue – the fact that I was born into an environment and came from a molded gene that belonged to woven patterns of fabric which is rooted inside of me and that would never change. I am talking about characteristic and behavioral patterns that are embedded in us from conception.

528429_10150881589932443_533339954_nCase in point, on my vacation /business trip earlier this year I visited my friends and family and was overjoyed to meet with those that I had not seen for almost eight years. We decided to go out to dinner one evening. At the dinner table there I was with my friends and family having a grand time, then it happened, I said something impolite to one of my friends which, I then realized took me back into a pattern that I thought was no longer a part of whom I had transformed into. l came full circle right back into my old self, into an environment where I once belonged yet detested.  It took one second to fall back into my weakness. Only then did I realize that I had to make that conscious effort to take note of myself, that my awareness must be focused at all times.

This is an open letter to me reminding me that my status must always reflect an aura of love and sensitivity to others.

As I begin another year I hereby promise myself to engage my mind, body, and spirit to be a sign of positive alignment. Combining my physical, mental and emotional efforts, I will reinforce me, cultivate my deeds and words into a way of life. Just like those making resolutions aiming to lose that excess weight, the secret to succeeding lies in the daily choices we make.

FANGA!

Hillary

About hsfanga

As a prolific vocalist I have spent many years crafting and developing my talent to reach my present point. Although I still have a long way to go I am truly grateful for the energies and blessings that the universe has poured into my life. And despite all the difficulties and challenges faced I am excited to share this journey with you....FANGA!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Made my New Year’s Resolutions, Have You?

  1. Good article,,,changes are made…a little at a time …

    Posted by Julia Squires | January 29, 2014, 19:35
  2. We sometimes are being judged harshly for every error we make, but we can always try again to correct ourselves.

    Posted by John Katz | January 19, 2014, 22:22

Leave a Reply

HS FANGA

Inspiring, reflective, stimulating are just some words to describe what HS FANGA blog is all about. Time to find that FANGA within you!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 139 other followers

Archives

